Ronaldo, Bale top on shortlist for UEFA Best Player Award

Real Madrid's Welsh forward Gareth Bale celebrates after scoring his second goal during the Spanish league football match Real Madrid CF vs Real Betis Balompie at the Santiago Bernabeu stadium in Madrid on August 29, 2015. AFP PHOTO/ PIERRE-PHILIPPE MARCOU

Real Madrid’s Welsh forward Gareth Bale beat Ronaldo to the award???  AFP PHOTO/ PIERRE-PHILIPPE MARCOU

Real Madrid teammates Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale are top on the list of nominees  for the UEFA best player of 2015/2016 Award.

Ronaldo and Bale both enjoyed a blistering season for both club and country in the year under review and they could easily pass for top favourites in the roster that has as fellow Real Madrid teammates Pepe and Toni Kroos.

Lionel Messi is also in contention as well as the Bayern Munich duo of Manuel Neur and Thomas Muller.

On Monday, UEFA announced their top 10 players in Europe during 2015/2016 and also the shortlist of 37 players that all gained votes.

As already stated, on August 25, 2016, UEFA will announce the best player in Europe during 2015/2016 in the already released shortlist.

The top 10 is as follows:

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid & Wales)
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy)
Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid & France)
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid & Germany)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina)
Thomas Müller (Bayern München & Germany)
Manuel Neuer (Bayern München & Germany)
Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid & Portugal)
Luis Suárez (Barcelona & Uruguay)

Women’s shortlist:


Camille Abily (France, Olympique Lyonnais);

Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Olympique Lyonnais);

Amandine Henry (France, Olympique Lyonnais/Portland Thorns FC);

Saki Kumagai (Japan, Olympique Lyonnais);

Eugenie Le Sommer(France, Olympique Lyonnais);

Amel Majri (Tunisia, Olympique Lyonnais);

Dszenifer Marozsán(Germany, 1. FFC Frankfurt/Olympique Lyonnais);

Louisa Necib (France, Olympique Lyonnais);

Alexandra Popp (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg);

Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais)