De Gea named Man United Player of the Year again

David de Gea posing with his award. Picture courtesy

David de Gea posing with his award. Picture courtesy

Spanish international David de Gea became the first player in the history of Manchester United to be named Player of the season for three consecutive seasons. 

The former Atletico Madrid goalkeeper was home sick at the start of the season and agreed a deal to join hometown club, Real Madrid but the deal fell through on the final day of the transfer window.

He was confined to the bench by manager Louis van Gaal as he was deemed not mentally ready as Sergio Romero was brought in as number one but it all soon changed as the 26-year-old was recalled to the starting line-up.

That changed United’s season as they instantly transformed into a formidable side without conceding goals thanks to the brilliance of de Gea and the Player of the Year Award is confirmation of the amazing quality of the Spaniard.

Chris Smalling

Also, Chris Smalling who has been solid at the back all season was voted the Players Player of the Year while the most expensive teenager in world football Anthony Martial grabbed the goal of the season title.

New sensation Marcus Rashford was rewarded for his breakthrough season as he picked up the U18 Player of the Year Award while another first team debutant Cameron Borthwick-Jackson was voted the U21 Player of the Year.

David de Gea who has kept 14 clean sheets in 32 appearances so far this season, said after receiving his award: “It is difficult for me to say anything; winning this trophy three years in a row is amazing. I am really happy, it’s an honour to receive this and I want to thank the fans, who are the best in the world.

Marcus Rashford

“It is amazing to win this award three times in a row. I want to thank everyone one and we will keep fighting.”

“I think everyone in the dressing room is important and now we have something important to win at Wembley. If we win the FA Cup, then it will be a good season.”

Only one other player has picked up the prize on three occasions, Cristiano Ronaldo (2004, 2007, 2008).