Vardy beats Mahrez, Ozil to Player of the Season award

Leicester City's Algerian midfielder Riyad Mahrez has a shot on goal during the English Premier League football match between Leicester City and Everton at King Power Stadium in Leicester, central England on May 7, 2016. / AFP PHOTO / ADRIAN DENNIS / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. No use with unauthorized audio, video, data, fixture lists, club/league logos or 'live' services. Online in-match use limited to 75 images, no video emulation. No use in betting, games or single club/league/player publications.  /

Leicester City striker Jamie Vardy has seen off competition from Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez to emerge the 2015/16 Barclays Player of the Season after leading the Foxes to a premier league triumph.

The Premier League Player of the Season is an annual association football award presented to players in England, which recognizes the most outstanding player in the Premier League each season.

Vardy who has scored 24 league goals this season for Leicester City saw off competition from four of his team-mates, Riyad Mahrez, N’Golo Kante, Kasper Schmeichel and Wes Morgan alongside West Ham’s Dimitri Payet and Mesut Ozil of Arsenal.

After being released by Sheffield Wednesday at the age of sixteen, Vardy began his senior career with Stocksbridge Park Steels, breaking into the first team in 2007 and spending three seasons before joining Northern Premier League side F.C. Halifax Town in 2010. Scoring 26 goals in his debut season, he won the club’s “Player’s Player of the Year” award, then moved to Conference Premier side Fleetwood Town in August 2011 for an undisclosed fee. He scored 31 league goals in his first season at his new team, winning the team’s “Player of the Year” award as they won the division.

In May 2012, Vardy signed for Leicester City in the Football League Championship for a non-League record transfer fee of £1 million, and helped the team win the Championship in 2014. In the 2015–16 Premier League season, he scored in eleven consecutive Premier League matches, breaking Ruud van Nistelrooy’s record, and was voted the FWA Footballer of the Year as outsiders Leicester won the title. He made his international debut in June 2015.