FIFA crisis: Meet the latest sixteen officials charged

This photo taken on October 8, 2015 in Zurich shows the entrance sign with the logo at the FIFA world headquarters. FIFA's ethics watchdog on Thursday suspended the two most powerful men in football, Sepp Blatter and Michel Platini, for 90 days in a sensational new blow to the sport's scandal-tainted governing body. Issa Hiyatou head of the Confederation of African Football, a Blatter ally, was put in charge of the multi-billion dollar body. AFP PHOTO / FABRICE COFFRINI

Sixteen more officials have been reportedly charged have been charged by US authorities investigating corruption at FIFA.

The new indictment, released by the Department of Justice in Washington, came hours after the arrest of two Fifa vice-presidents in Zurich on Thursday.

Former Brazil football federation chief Ricardo Teixeira was among those accused of being “involved in criminal schemes involving well over $200m (£132m) in bribes and kickbacks”.

Fifa said it would “fully co-operate”.

Earlier, Concacaf president Alfredo Hawit and Conmebol president Juan Angel Napout were held in a dawn raid at a Swiss hotel, arrested on suspicion of accepting millions of dollars of bribes, at the request of the US authorities.

Hawit, 64, is interim president for North, Central America and Caribbean football, while Napout, 57, oversees football in the South American confederation.

The Swiss hotel is the same location where several officials from world football’s governing body were arrested in May.

Fifa’s executive committee has been meeting in the city, voting on reforms.

Current Brazil football president Marco Polo del Nero is also on the new “superseding” 92-count indictment, which alleges “racketeering, wire fraud and money laundering conspiracies” with “sustained abuse of [the defendants’] positions for financial gain”.

The current and former senior football executives charged are:

Alfredo Hawit – Fifa vice-president and Concacaf president

Ariel Alvarado – Fifa disciplinary committee member and former Panamanian football chief

Rafael Callejas – former president of Honduras – and its football association

Brayan Jimenez – Guatemala FA chief and member of the Fifa committee for fair play and social responsibility.

Rafael Salguero – Former Fifa executive committee member and Guatemala football chief

Hector Trujillo – general secretary of Guatemala FA

Reynaldo Vasquez – former El Salvador FA president

Juan Angel Napout – Fifa vice-president and Conmebol president

Manuel Burga – Fifa development committee member and former Peru FA president

Carlos Chavez – Conmebol treasurer

Luis Chiriboga – Ecuador football president

Marco Polo del Nero – Brazil football president

Eduardo Deluca – former Conmebol general secretary

Jose Luis Meiszner – Conmebol general secretary

Romer Osuna – Bolivian Fifa audit and compliance committee member

Ricardo Teixeira – former Brazil FA chief